divorcehope

My divorce story…picking up the pieces, making sense of the mess, single parenting, and other encouragement along the way!

What if I Fall? March 7, 2013

Filed under: Divorce,Encouragement,Parenting,Uncategorized — justmejesusandsippycups @ 5:39 pm

Psalm 37:23-24 (AMP)

 

The steps of a [good] man are directed and established by the Lord when He delights in his way [and He busies Himself with his every step. Though he falls, he shall not be utterly cast down, for the Lord grasps his hand in support and upholds him.

 

I heard a great sermon recently on dreams. It was so inspiring, practical, encouraging, anointed and worth sharing! God wants to breathe life to the dreams inside of us that we have let die.

 

This is something I am believing for this year, 2013!  My dreams are coming back to LIFE!  Basically, for our dreams to become a reality and for God to direct our steps, we have to be moving. We cannot expect God to guide us when we are standing still, not doing anything, not willing to step out, step forward, or just take a step!

 

Sometimes, at least for me in my hard-headed perfectionist nature, I am afraid to move because I am afraid to fail, afraid to take the wrong step, go the wrong direction, make the wrong move, say the wrong thing, whatever! Fear can be paralyzing…and if we allow it, fear will keep us from achieving our dreams because God cannot direct what is not moving.

 

My son, Finn, just started walking this past week. It is so precious to see him take his first steps and become more and more confident as he learns to walk. However, if he was afraid of falling, he would never learn to walk, never run, never jump, and so on. He had to be willing to take those first steps and risk falling down. And guess what, he did fall, he has fallen many times, and he will continue to fall.

 

As his mother, have I viewed these falls as failures? Have I given up on him, turned my back on him, and deemed him a failure? Of course not!!! I certainly don’t want him to fall as I know it may cause him pain and maybe some discouragement, but these falls actually make me love him MORE.  These falls are a part of the process, they make him stronger, and they make me more proud every time he gets back up, shakes it off, and tries again.

 

I believe this is the same way the Lord views us.  We are His dearly loved children. He is cheering us on as we learn to walk in Him and as we mature in Him. We will stumble and fall from time to time…..but He wants us to get back up with a childlike faith and determination and keep walking toward Him and we will grow stronger and stronger!

 

When Finn makes me his goal and takes steps toward me only to fall into my arms, I am overwhelmed with love, joy, and prideJ  So friends, let’s choose to keep moving today, toward JESUS. Let’s keep taking steps toward our dreams, trusting that as we are willing to move, He will guide us and be there to help us up even if we stumble and fall.

 

I did a dance to this song when I was in high school.  Little did I know then how true it would be for my life.

 

 

2 Responses to “What if I Fall?”

  1. christy Ronsick Says:

    Love, as always!

  2. Hellen Says:

    Love you and so thankful for your friendship! Thanks for your encouraging words and amazing heart!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

