divorcehope

My divorce story…picking up the pieces, making sense of the mess, single parenting, and other encouragement along the way!

Guilty as Charged!! April 5, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — justmejesusandsippycups @ 6:29 pm

“Stop Instagramming Your Perfect Life” – Another article I read this morning that I wanted to share……
perfect family

Ouch. Guilty. This is something my counselor has brought up several times over the past few months – Facebook and Instagram are not reality – yet this is something I continue to be guilty of falling into believing. Can you relate?

I think this can be ESPECIALLY true for those of us who have walked through or are walking through divorce. We have more moments alone…and more lonely moments. And on top of that, if you’re like me, we are still processing some regrets and many what-ifs. We are still trying to make sense of what happened and where our lives are going now.

Can I challenge us, instead of focusing on others, to believe a truth I’ve been holding onto?

Romans 8:28 says, “We are assured and know that all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.”

He’s a good God! I don’t know how He does it, but when we allow Him, He does work ALL things together for GOOD! We live in a fallen world, and bad things happen….sometimes as a result of our sin (or the sins of others) and sometimes hard things happen that simply can’t be explained this side of Heaven.

In and through it all, God wants us to trust Him…to repent and seek forgiveness when we need to….and then relinquish control and TRUST HIM. Seek Him above everything else and trust His goodness, faithfulness and most of all His love for us.

Matthew 6:33 says, “Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and ALL these things will be added unto you.”

You’ll find out as my story continues to unfold, that I have A LOT to trust Him for….there is A LOT of mess in my life that needs to be worked together for GOOD.

But…I’m doing my best to keep my eyes on Him. I know now more than ever before that His word is TRUTH….all of it…and His ways lead to life and freedom. He does what he says He will do…and He CAN be trusted.

Check out this challenging article and be encouraged that NO ONE’s life is PERFECT.

“Stop Instagramming Your Perfect Life”

 

One Response to “Guilty as Charged!!”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Great blog, great article! I am refraining from voicing my opinion on social media … other than to say I logged off of Facebook three years ago and permanently deleted my account! It was the best decision for me!


Leave a Reply

